Status of Women in the Profession Committee


The Status of Women in the Profession (SWP) Committee recommends policies and good practices to assure the full access and academic freedom of women within the Academy and develops programs to enhance the status of women in the profession.

Duties and Responsibilities

Members of the Status of Women in the Profession Committee are expected to participate in the following:

  • Collectively identifying ways to improve the AAR with respect to gender equity, diversity, and inclusion
  • Designing programming and initiatives to carry out these improvements and to raise awareness about issues of sexism and misogyny, including transmisogyny
  • Annual Meeting events and activities
  • Mentoring programs, including the Women’s Mentoring Lunch at the Annual Meeting in November

Meeting Schedule: 

  • One in-person meeting at the Annual Meeting in November, usually on Friday morning
  • Meetings in fall and winter via Zoom; additional Zoom meetings as needed
  • In January or February every other year, committee members meet in person with the other status committees for a summit. The next summit is scheduled for early 2021.

Annual Meeting Activities

  • Women's Mentoring Lunch
    • Each year, the Status of Women in the Profession Committee organizes a luncheon during the Annual Meeting. Several mid-career and senior AAR scholars gather with newer and emerging scholars in the field to discuss pertinent issues such as choosing an adviser, getting published, contract negotiation, and the challenge of balancing work and personal commitments. The lunch is cosponsored with the Status of Racial and Ethnic Minorities Committee and the Women's Caucus. Registration is required. 
  • Special Topics Forums
    • The Status of Women in the Profession Committee holds at least one special topics forum on a subject of concern to women in religion. We will continue our initiative to increase the visibility of feminist scholars of religion on issues of public concern. Feel free to contact the committee's staff liaison with ideas and topics.

Committee Members

  • Term of Service: Four years, non-renewable
  • Committee Composition: Up to six members
Full NameTerm StartTerm EndPosition
K. Christine Pae1/1/202412/31/2027Chair
Xochitl Alvizo1/1/202312/31/2026Committee Member
Eleanor Craig1/1/202312/31/2026Committee Member
Maria T. Davila1/1/202212/31/2024Committee Member
Laura Nasrallah1/1/202412/31/2027Committee Member
Amy Elizabeth Steele1/1/202212/31/2025Committee Member
Jacob Robinson1/1/2023 Staff Liaison
Claudia Schippert8/1/2023 Staff Liaison