Journalism Awards Jury


The AAR’s Committee on the Public Understanding of Religion oversees the Journalism Awards contest. The jury selects the recipient(s) of the Journalism Award

Meeting Schedule

Jury members review entries during April and make final deliberations via conference call in early May.

Jury Members

  • Term of Office: Two years
  • Jury Composition: Three members. The jury is comprised of two non-committee member journalism or media professionals, and one member from the AAR's Committee on the Public Understanding of Religion, who serves as the jury chair.
Full Name Term Start Term End  Position 
Nathan Walker   1/1/2020  12/31/2021    Chair, CPUR member
Liz Kineke 3/31/2021    12/31/2021    Non-Committee Jury Member
Debra Mason 3/31/2021  12/31/2022    Non-Committee Jury Member
Marion Pierre        Staff Liaison