2019 Regional Meetings

Open Calls for Papers:

Eastern International Region
CFP Deadline: Feb. 1, 2019)

New England-Maritimes Region
(CFP Deadline: Jan. 18, 2019)

Mid-Atlantic Region
(CFP Deadline: Dec. 22, 2018)

Pacific Northwest
(CFP Deadline: Jan. 30th, 2019)

Open Registration:




AAR Members Win NEH Grants

Congratulations to Sara Ritchey, Ariela Marcus-Sells, Aaron Hughes, Eric Schluessel, Leigh Schmidt, and Wendy Cadge! Read more.

The AAR Thanks Outgoing Leadership

We are very grateful to the members of AAR leadership groups for their dedicated service. View the list of members whose terms end in 2018.

AAR Position Opening

The American Academy of Religion seeks qualified candidates for the Director for Finance and Administration position at the AAR executive office in Atlanta, Georgia. View the search announcement and job description.

2019 AAR Presidential Theme

2019 AAR President Laurie Patton announced the theme for next year's Annual Meeting: Scholarly Workers in Public Spaces: A Necessary Long Term Focus in the Study of Religions. Read more.

Statement in Response to Graduate Students

At the #MeToo session, graduate students were represented on the panel by an empty chair. Read the statement from the Graduate Student Committee articulating why and the response from the AAR Board.

Denouncing Antisemitism: Statement from the AAR Board

The Board of Directors of the American Academy of Religion has issued a statement denouncing antisemitism and the desecration of places of worship. Read the full statement.

2018 Board of Directors Election Results

The AAR has four newly elected board members! Thank you to all AAR members who voted in these elections. Read the full announcement.

A Protest Against the US Travel Ban: Statement of the AAR Board

Read the recently published statement from the AAR Board of Directors concerning the damaging effect the US Travel Ban continues to have on scholars of religion who wish to participate in AAR events.

New Member Benefit!

AAR members now have access to more than 80 journals in JSTOR's religion collection.

Jacob Olupona Wins Award for the Public Understanding of Religion

Jacob Olupona Wins Marty Award for Public Understanding of Religion
For fostering understanding of religious pluralism in Africa and African diasporic communities and his work for peace and understanding in Nigerian civic, academic, religious and political spheres.

The AAR's New Long-Range Plan

Jack Fitzmier, retiring AAR Executive Director, introduces the new long-range plan, which provides a framework for growth and change in the coming years.

Spotlight on Teaching

New issue on "Teaching Tales: Harnessing the Power of Storytelling," with an introduction by Raj Balkaran and articles by Steven E. Lindquist, Hillary Rodrigues, Jeffrey M. Brackett, Elizabeth M. Rohlman, Shana Sippy, and Caleb Simmons.

Subscribe to News