2018 Annual Meeting, Nov 17-20

Mark your calendars for the 2018 Annual Meeting! Plan to join your colleagues in Denver November 17-20. Register Now!

2019 Regional Meetings

Open Calls for Papers:

Eastern International Region
CFP Deadline: Feb. 1, 2019)

Mid-Atlantic Region
(CFP Deadline: Dec. 1, 2018)

Midwestern Region
(CFP Deadline: Oct. 20, 2018)

Rocky Mountain-Great Plains Region
(CFP Deadline: Oct. 26, 2018)

Southeastern Region
(CFP Deadline: Oct. 1, 2018)

Southwest Region
(CFP Deadline: Oct. 15, 2018)

Western Region
(CFP Deadline: Oct. 1, 2018)

Open Registration:

Registration closed.


Martin Scorsese: 2017 Religion and the Arts Award

Martin ScorseseThe American Academy of Religion is thrilled to announce the winner of the 2017 AAR Religion and the Arts Award: acclaimed filmmaker Martin Scorsese.

With a career spanning more than fifty years, Scorsese is widely regarded as one of the most important directors in American cinema. For scholars of religion, Scorsese’s filmography holds particular significance in its frequent meditations on faith, apostasy, and morality—from allegorical references in works like Cape Fear (1991) to the more overt engagement of religion in The Last Temptation of Christ (1988) and Kundun (1997).

Critics have hailed Scorsese’s most recent release, Silence (2016), as a culmination of themes that have influenced his work from the very beginning. Like so many of his films, Silence brings religion into public consciousness and conversation, serving as only the latest example in a long and storied career meriting this recognition by the Religion and the Arts Award Jury. Both Kundun and Silence will be screened at the Annual Meeting in Boston.

Established in 2007, the AAR Religion and the Arts Award is presented annually to an artist, performer, critic, curator, or scholar who has made a recent significant contribution to the understanding of the relations among the arts and religion, both for the academy and for a broader public.