2018 Annual Meeting, Nov 17-20

Mark your calendars for the 2018 Annual Meeting! Plan to join your colleagues in Denver November 17-20. Register Now!

2019 Regional Meetings

Open Calls for Papers:

Eastern International Region
CFP Deadline: Feb. 1, 2019)

New England & Canadian Maritimes Joint Region
(CFP Deadline: Feb. 21, 2019)

Mid-Atlantic Region
(CFP Deadline: Dec. 1, 2018)

Midwestern Region
(CFP Deadline: Nov. 3rd, 2018)

Pacific Northwest
(CFP Deadline: Jan. 30th, 2019)

Rocky Mountain-Great Plains Region
(CFP Deadline: Nov. 9, 2018)

Open Registration:

Registration closed.


Best First Book in the History of Religions Award Announced

September 12, 2006

Contact: Myesha D. Jenkins
Associate Director of Theological Programs

The American Academy of Religion (AAR) has selected this year’s recipient of the Best First Book in the History of Religions:

Ebrahim Moosa, Associate Professor of Islamic Studies
Department of Religion and Director of the Center for Study of Muslim Networks, Duke University.

Ghazali and the Poetics of Imagination
The University of North Carolina Press, 2005.

The Best First Book in the History of Religions award recognizes new scholarly publications that make significant contributions to the study of religion. The award honors books of distinctive originality, intelligence, creativity and importance, books that affect decisively how religion is examined, understood, and interpreted. For more information, please see here.

This award will be presented at the AAR’s Annual Meeting at 8:00 p.m. on Saturday, November 18, 2006 during the Annual Meeting in Ballroom A of the Washington Convention Center in Washington, DC.

Founded in 1909, the American Academy of Religion is a learned society and professional association of some 10,000 members who research and teach in colleges, universities, seminaries, and schools throughout North America and abroad.

# # #