2020 Regional Meetings

Open Registration:

All remaining regional meetings for 2020 have been canceled

Ray L. Hart Service Award

The Ray L. Hart Service Award, established by the Board of Directors in 1992, is given to persons whose dedication and service have made significant contributions to the AAR's mission to foster excellence in the academic study of religion and enhance the public understanding of religion. The recipient is selected by the AAR Executive Committee.

Nominations may be submitted through the AAR’s online nomination submission system.

Deadline for submissions: February 1, 2020, 11:59 pm Eastern Time.


Please send any questions to .


Ray L. Hart Service Award Recipients to Date

  • Kathryn McClymond (2019)
  • Judith Berling (2005)
  • Harry Buck & Robert V. Smith, given as "Founders Award" (2002)
  • Peter Paris (2001)
  • Robert Detweiler (1997)
  • Austin Creel (1995)
  • Raymond Williams (1994)
  • Ray L. Hart (1993)