2017 Annual Meeting, Nov 18-21

Plan to join your colleagues in beautiful Boston for the 2017 AAR & SBL Annual Meetings. Advance rates end August 24. Register today!

Registration and Housing
General Information
Hotels and Transportation
Employment Center
Online Program Book
Tours and Workshops
Travel Visa Statement
Advertiser Information
Twitter: #aarsbl17

2018 Regional Meetings

The following Call for Papers is open:

Southwest (SWCRS)
Deadline: October 15

2017 National Humanities Conference

Register by October 27 for the NHC conference in Boston.


Publishing Task Force

Charge: The Task Force will undertake the following tasks and make recommendations to the AAR Board of Directors as appropriate: evaluate digital publishing in hiring and promotion decisions with a view toward drafting a position statement; develop strategies for fostering cutting edge scholarship and work by younger scholars in a publishing environment that increasingly favors commercial viability; assess the current AAR publishing programs and the role of the Publications Committee; and examine issuing tenure and promotion guidelines with respect to publications.

Current Members:

  • Theodore Vial, Chair
  • Timothy Beal
  • Daniel Boscaljon
  • Christopher Cantwell
  • Anthony Cerulli
  • Kimberly Connor
  • Cynthia Eller
  • Willie Jennings
  • Gary Laderman
  • Kathryn Lofton
  • John Nemec
  • Laurie Patton
  • Kristian Petersen
  • Jeri Wieringa
  • Diane Winston
  • Robert Yelle
  • John R. Fitzmier, AAR Staff Liaison
  • Sarah Levine, AAR Staff Liaison
  • Susan Snider, AAR Staff Liaison

Work in Progress:

Draft Guidelines for Evaluating Digital Scholarship
AAR members are invited to make comments and suggestions through August 31, 2017.
Special thanks to Publishing Task Force members Timothy Beal, Christopher Cantwell, Kristian Petersen, Ted Vial, and Jeri Wieringa for their work on the draft guidelines.