2020 Regional Meetings

Open Calls for Papers:

Undergraduate Deadline: December 15, 2019

Deadline: December 16, 2019

Upper Midwest
Deadline: December 31, 2019

Pacific Northwest
Deadline: January 3, 2020

Deadline: January 10, 2020

New England-Maritimes
Deadline: January 19, 2020

Eastern International
Deadline: February 1, 2020

Open Registration:




Publications Committee

Charge:  The Publications Committee supports the membership in operating effectively in a rapidly changing publishing environment. It does so by advising the AAR on policies and programs to help members publish, in various media, critical reflection on religions, and to help departments and institutions evaluate scholarship fairly. It develops policies and good practices for the AAR’s in-house publications, the book series, JAAR, and RR.

Composition:  Up to ten members, including the book series editors and the JAAR editor.

Terms of Office:  Ex officio, five-year term (renewable once) in the case of the JAAR editor and book series editors; four years (nonrenewable) for the chair and non-editor members.

Member Position Term Start Term End
Timothy Beal 2019 2022
Anthony Cerulli 2019 2022
Susan E. Henking 2019 2022
Karen Jackson-Weaver Teaching Religious Studies Series Editor 2010 2019
Andrea Jain JAAR Editor 2018 2020
Margaret D. Kamitsuka Academy Series Editor 2017 2021
Vincent Lloyd Reflection and Theory in the Study of Religion Series Editor 2017 2021
John Nemec Religion in Translation Series Editor 2015 2024
Theodore Vial Chair 2016 2019
Robert A. Yelle Religion, Culture, and History Series Editor 2013 2022

Staff Liaison Job Title Phone Number
Sarah Levine Director of Publications 404-727-3059

Publication Links
Journal of the American Academy of Religion
Teaching Religious Studies Series
Academy Series
Reflection and Theory in the Study of Religion Series
Religion in Translation Series
Religion, Culture, and History Series