Graduate Student Committee

Charge:  The Graduate Student Committee addresses the needs and concerns of graduate students and promotes their professional development and participation in the American Academy of Religion and the academy as a whole.

Composition:  Ten regionally elected Student Directors and the AAR Student Director, who serves as committee chair.  The AAR Student Director is a member of the AAR Board of Directors. Each regionally elected Student Director serves as a member of their Regional Board of Directors.

Term of Service:  AAR Student Director serves a two-year, non-renewable term. Each Regional Student Director is elected by their Region for a 2-year term of service, and may serve an optional 3rd year.

Meetings Schedule:

  • One in-person meeting at the Annual Meeting in November.
  • Meetings in Spring, Fall, and Winter via Zoom.
  • Planning sub-committee meets in Spring.

Duties and Responsibilities:

Graduate Student Committee members are expected to participate in a variety of activities, including the following:

  • Programming for Student Sessions at the AAR Annual Meetings

    • Student Roundtable Sessions and Special Topics Forum; co-sponsored sessions, workshops, or other special events; GSC Business Meeting
  • Additional activities for AAR Student Director

    • Student Director attends AAR Board Meetings
  • Additional activities for Regional Student Directors

    • Regional Meeting

Publications or other items:

Graduate Student Newsletter, Speaking of Students

Timeline of Activities:

  • Speaking of Students newsletter is sent out quarterly.
  • At the AAR Annual Meeting in November:

    • Friday: GSC Committee Meeting
    • Saturday: Special Topics Forum
    • Saturday/Sunday/Monday: Student Roundtable Sessions
    • Sunday: GSC Business Meeting


  • December 15 - Open Call for Papers
  • December/January - Student Director submits Board Report
  • February/March - Finalize AM Programming
  • April 1- Submit all Annual Meeting Sessions/Events/Activities

Current Members:

Member Position Term Start Term End
Adam D. J. Brett 2020 2020
Meghan Johnston Aelabouni 2018 2020
Andrew Klumpp 2018 2020
Abby Kulisz 2018 2020
Kaitlyn Lindgren-Hansen 2019 2021
Alex Mayfield 2018 2020
Michael McLaughlin 2019 2021
Aarti Patel Chair 2019 2021
Joe Paxton 2019 2021
Tekoa Robinson 2017 2020

Graduate Student Newsletter
Student Director
More Student Information