2019 Annual Meeting, Nov 23-26

The 2019 Annual Meeting will be in San Diego, CA, November 23-26. Register Now!

2020 Regional Meetings

Open Calls for Papers:

Rocky Mountains-Great Plains
Deadline: November 4, 2019

Pacific Northwest
Deadline: November 15, 2019

Undergraduate Deadline: December 15, 2019

Deadline: December 16, 2019

Upper Midwest
Deadline: December 31, 2019

Deadline: January 10, 2020

Eastern International
Deadline: February 1, 2020

Open Registration:




Kathryn McClymond: 2019 Ray L. Hart Service Award Winner

The AAR is pleased to announce that Kathryn McClymond is the recipient of the 2019 Ray L. Hart Service Award. McClymond is Associate Dean for Faculty Development, College of Arts and Sciences, and Professor, Department of Religious Studies, at Georgia State University. The Ray L. Hart Service Award, established by the AAR Board of Directors in 1992, is given to persons whose dedication and service have made significant contributions to the AAR’s mission to foster excellence in the academic study of religion and enhance the public understanding of religion. McClymond will receive the award at the Annual Meeting in San Diego, California.

McClymond has given over 20 years of service to the AAR, including service on the Comparative Studies of Hinduisms and Judaisms Group, the Comparative Studies in Religion Section, the Stand-Alone MA Programs in Religion Seminar, the Research Grants Jury, the Textual Studies Book Awards Jury, and the AAR Board of Directors. As Program Unit Director, McClymond has put a tremendous amount of effort into overseeing the work of the Program Units of the AAR, helping them succeed in their individual intellectual goals and ensuring that they embody the AAR ideals of excellence and diversity. McClymond has been an exceptional Program Committee chair, developing best practices and working efficiently with the members of her committee and AAR staff to make our Annual Meeting the success that it is.

Congratulations to Kathryn McClymond on receiving this important award! We are incredibly grateful for her dedication and service.