2016 Annual Meeting, Nov 19-22

Join us for the 2016 Annual Meetings, San Antonio. The AAR Call for Papers is open!

2016 Regional Meetings

Support your region and plan to attend your regional meeting.

Open Registrations:

Eastern International
Early Bird Deadline: April 15

Early Bird Deadline: February 6

Early Bird Deadline: March 4

New England-Maritimes
Deadline: April 2

Deadline: February 21

Deadline: March 13

Upper Midwest
Deadline: April 2

Deadline: March 28

Open Call for Papers:

Eastern International
Deadline: February 15


AAR Book Awards Announced

August 27, 2012

Contact: Stephanie Gray
Associate Director, Publications

The American Academy of Religion (AAR) has selected the 2012 recipients of the Awards for Excellence in the Study of Religion and the Best First Book in the History of the Religions:

Award for Excellence in Religion: Analytical-Descriptive Studies
Pamela E. Klassen, University of Toronto
Spirits of Protestantism: Medicine, Healing, and Liberal Christianity.
University of California Press, 2011.

Award for Excellence in Religion: Constructive-Reflective Studies
Elliot R. Wolfson, New York University
A Dream Interpreted within a Dream: Oneiropoiesis and the Prism
of Imagination
Zone Books, 2011.

Award for Excellence in Religion: Historical Studies
Thomas A. Tweed, University of Texas, Austin
America’s Church: The National Shrine and Catholic Presence in the Nation’s Capital.
Oxford University Press, 2011.

Award for Excellence in Religion: Textual Studies
David M. Freidenreich, Colby College
Foreigners and Their Food: Constructing Otherness in Jewish, Christian, and Islamic Law.
University of California Press, 2011.

Best First Book in the History of Religions
Ronit Ricci, Australian National University
Islam Translated: Literature, Conversion, and the Arabic Cosmopolis of South and Southeast Asia.
Chicago University Press, 2011.

The Awards for Excellence and Best First Book in the History of Religions recognize new scholarly publications that make significant contributions to the study of religion. The awards honor books of distinctive originality, intelligence, creativity and importance, books that affect decisively how religion is examined, understood, and interpreted. For more information, please see here. Awards will be presented at the AAR’s 2012 Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois, Sunday, November 18, 2012, 7:00–8:30 PM.

As a learned society and professional association of teachers and research scholars, the American Academy of Religion has over 10,000 members who teach in some 1,500 colleges, universities, seminaries, and schools in North America and abroad. The Academy is dedicated to furthering knowledge of religion and religious institutions in all their forms and manifestations. This is accomplished through Academy-wide and regional conferences and meetings, publications, programs, and membership services.