2020 Regional Meetings

Open Calls for Papers:

Undergraduate Deadline: December 15, 2019

Deadline: December 16, 2019

Upper Midwest
Deadline: December 31, 2019

Pacific Northwest
Deadline: January 3, 2020

Deadline: January 10, 2020

New England-Maritimes
Deadline: January 19, 2020

Eastern International
Deadline: February 1, 2020

Open Registration:




2016 AAR Book Awards Announced

August 22, 2016

Contact: Sarah Levine

The American Academy of Religion (AAR) has selected the 2016 recipients of the Awards for Excellence in the Study of Religion and the Best First Book in the History of Religions:

Award for Excellence in the Study of Religion: Analytical-Descriptive Studies
Bhrigupati Singh, Brown University
Poverty and the Quest for Life: Spiritual and Material Striving in Rural India
University of Chicago Press, 2015

Award for Excellence in the Study of Religion: Constructive-Reflective Studies
Francis J. Beckwith, Baylor University
Taking Rites Seriously: Law, Politics, and the Reasonableness of Faith
Cambridge University Press, 2015

Award for Excellence in the Study of Religion: Historical Studies
Richard E. Payne, University of Chicago
A State of Mixture: Christians, Zoroastrians, and Iranian Political Culture in Late Antiquity
University of California Press, 2015

Award for Excellence in the Study of Religion: Textual Studies
David A. Lambert, University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
How Repentance Became Biblical: Judaism, Christianity, and the Interpretation of Scripture
Oxford University Press, 2016

Best First Book in the History of Religions
Shahab Ahmed (1966–2015), Harvard University
What is Islam?: The Importance of Being Islamic
Princeton University Press, 2016

The Awards for Excellence and Best First Book in the History of Religions recognize new scholarly publications that make significant contributions to the study of religion. The awards honor books of distinctive originality, intelligence, creativity and importance; books that affect decisively how religion is examined, understood, and interpreted. For more information, please see Awards will be presented at the AAR’s 2016 Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas, on Sunday, November 20, 2016, at 7:30 PM. Each of the winning titles will be reviewed in upcoming issues of the Journal of the American Academy of Religion.

Founded in 1909, the American Academy of Religion is the world’s largest association of religion scholars, and its mission is to foster excellence in the study of religion by promoting research, publishing, and teaching about religion in academia. As a learned society and professional association of teachers and research scholars, the American Academy of Religion has about 9,000 members who teach in some 900 colleges, universities, seminaries, and schools in North America and abroad. The Academy is dedicated to furthering knowledge of religion and religious institutions in all their forms and manifestations. This is accomplished through Academy-wide and regional conferences and meetings, publications, programs, and membership services.