2019 Regional Meetings

Open Calls for Papers:

Upper Midwest
(CFP Deadline: February 22, 2019)

Open Registration:



New England-Maritimes

Rocky Mountain-Great Plains




2007 Book Awards Announced

August 16, 2007

Contact: Myesha Jenkins
Associated Director of Theological Programs

The American Academy of Religion (AAR) has selected the 2007 recipients of the Awards for Excellence in the Study of Religion and the Best First Book in the History of the Religions:

Awards for Excellence in Religion: Analytical-Descriptive Studies
David Frankfurter, University of New Hampshire
Evil Incarnate: Rumors of Demonic Conspiracy and Satanic Abuse in History
Princeton University Press, 2006

Awards for Excellence in Religion: Constructive-Reflective Studies (Co-winners)
John D. Caputo, Syracuse University
The Weakness of God: A Theology of the Event
Indiana University Press, 2006

John Clayton (deceased), Boston University
Compiled by Anne Blackburn and Thomas Carroll
Religions, Reasons, and Gods: Essays in Cross-Cultural Philosophy of Religion
Cambridge University Press, Cambridge Studies in Religious Traditions, 2006

Awards for Excellence in Religion: Historical Studies (Co-winners)
Catherine Albanese, University of California, Santa Barbara
A Republic of Mind and Spirit: A Cultural History of American Metaphysical Religion
Yale University Press, 2006

Caroline Walker Bynum, Institute for Advanced Study
Wonderful Blood: Theology and Practice in Late Medieval Northern Germany and Beyond
University of Pennsylvania Press, 2006

Awards for Excellence in Religion: Textual Studies
Kristofer Schipper, Library of the Western Belvedere and Franciscus Verellen, École Française d'Extrême-Orient, eds.
The Taoist Canon:A Historical Companion to the Daozang
University of Chicago Press, 2004

Best First Book in the History of Religions
Leela Prasad, Duke University
Poetics of Conduct: Oral Narrative and Moral Being in a South Indian Town
Columbia University Press, 2006

 The Awards for Excellence and Best First Book in the History of Religions recognize new scholarly publications that make significant contributions to the study of religion. The awards honor books of distinctive originality, intelligence, creativity and importance, books that affect decisively how religion is examined, understood, and interpreted.  For more information, please see here.

Awards will be presented at the AAR’s 2007 Annual Meeting in San Diego, CA, November 17-20, 2007. 

As a learned society and professional association of teachers and research scholars, the American Academy of Religion has over 10,000 members who teach in some 1,500 colleges, universities, seminaries, and schools in North America and abroad. The Academy is dedicated to furthering knowledge of religion and religious institutions in all their forms and manifestations. This is accomplished through Academy-wide and regional conferences and meetings, publications, programs, and membership services

# # #