2019 Annual Meeting, Nov 23-26

The 2019 Annual Meeting will be in San Diego, CA, November 23-26. Register Now!

2020 Regional Meetings

Open Calls for Papers:

Rocky Mountains-Great Plains
Deadline: November 15, 2019

Undergraduate Deadline: December 15, 2019

Deadline: December 16, 2019

Upper Midwest
Deadline: December 31, 2019

Pacific Northwest
Deadline: January 3, 2020

Deadline: January 10, 2020

New England-Maritimes
Deadline: January 19, 2020

Eastern International
Deadline: February 1, 2020

Open Registration:




AAR Award Programs

2019 Award Programs Calendar

Through six award programs, the AAR recognizes extraordinary service and exceptional contributions to the field.


Book Awards

These awards honor works of distinctive originality, intelligence, creativity, and importance—books that affect decisively how religion is examined, understood, and interpreted. Awards for Excellence are given in four categories: analytical-descriptive, constructive-reflective, historical, and textual studies. The AAR also awards a prize for the Best First Book in the History of Religions.

Awards for Excellence are chosen by the  Book Awards Jury.

Submission Deadline: February 10


Journalism Awards

Annually, the AAR honors the best in-depth reporting on religion. The contest is open to all print and web-based journalists at media outlets of any size. Winners receive: $1,000 (first place); $500 (second place); and $250 (third place).

Submission Deadline: March 6


Excellence in Teaching Award

The AAR Award for Excellence in Teaching recognizes the importance of teaching and honors outstanding teaching in the field.

The recipient is chosen by the AAR’s Teaching and Learning Committee.

Submission Deadline: August 1


Ray L. Hart Service Award

The Ray L. Hart Service Award is given to persons whose dedication and service have made significant contributions to the AAR's mission of fostering excellence in the field of religion.

The recipient of this award is selected by the AAR’s Executive Committee.


Martin E. Marty Public Understanding of Religion Award

The Martin E. Marty Award for the Public Understanding of Religion, established in 1996, recognizes extraordinary contributions to the public understanding of religion. The award goes to those whose work has a relevance and eloquence that speaks, not just to scholars, but more broadly to the public as well.

The recipient of this award is selected by the AAR’s  Committee on the Public Understanding of Religion.

Submission Deadline: January 25


Religion and the Arts Award

The AAR’s Religion and the Arts Award is presented annually to an artist, performer, critic, curator, or scholar who has made a recent, significant contribution to the understanding of the relations among the arts and religions, both for the academy and for a broader public.

The recipient is selected by the AAR’s Religion and the Arts Award Jury.

  Submission Deadline: February 1