Religion and the Arts Award


The Religion and the Arts Award is presented annually to an artist, performer, critic, curator, or scholar who has made a recent significant contribution to the understanding of the relations among the arts and religions, both for the academy and for a broader public.

View a list of past winners.

Nomination Instructions

The Religion and the Arts Award Jury accepts nominations from AAR members, though nominees need not be AAR members. Nominations must include a supporting letter (no more than 1,000 words) and any relevant supporting materials (images, DVDs, books, catalogs, etc.). Please, no self-nominations.

Electronic submissions should be made through the online nomination form. To send a paper submission, please contact AAR staff member Elizabeth Hardcastle at for instructions.

Selection Process

The Religion and the Arts Award Jury selects the winner each year and presents the award at a special session of the AAR Annual Meeting.


The next award cycle will open in 2021.