2019 Annual Meeting, Nov 23-26

The 2019 Annual Meeting will be in San Diego, CA, November 23-26. Register Now!

2019 Regional Meetings

Open Calls for Papers:

Deadline: October 1, 2019

Congratulations to the 2018 IDRG Winners!

The AAR is pleased to announce the 2018 winners of the International Dissertation Research Grants (IDRG) program:


Elsa Marty

Elsa Marty—winner of the 2018 Selva J. Raj Endowed International Dissertation Research Fellowship—is a PhD candidate in theology at the University of Chicago Divinity School with a focus on theological anthropology and religion in India. Her dissertation, "Negotiating Difference: Adivasi Christians and Contextual Theology," draws on ethnographic fieldwork among Adivasi Christians in North India to offer a critique of contextual theology. She is the co-editor of A Dictionary of Philosophy of Religion.


Aaron T. Hollander—winner of the 2018 International Dissertation Research Grant—is a scholar of interreligious relations and intercultural theologies, with a center of gravity in Orthodox Christianity and emphases on lived religion and the entanglements of material and intellectual culture. His doctoral dissertation at the University of Chicago Divinity School, completed in summer of 2018, interprets the mediation of holiness in Greek Orthodoxy, drawing on original ethnographic research in divided Cyprus and in-depth studies of authoritative patristic models to argue that hagiographical media (and the social processes in which they are generated and mobilized) constitute a lived Orthodox theology of resistance.



The IDRG program is designed to support AAR student members whose dissertation research requires them to travel outside of the country in which their school or university is located. Grants are intended to help candidates complete their doctoral degrees by offsetting costs of travel, lodging, and other dissertation research-related expenses.

The 2019 IDRG program is now accepting applications. Learn more.